clevermanka (
clevermanka) wrote2020-06-03 11:55 am
Well that was a thing that just happened
Okay. Uh. So I wrapped up my Zoom appointment with Dr. SexyNotAtAllSexyAnymore an hour ago and I'm still wrapping my head around it.
He was super laissez-faire about COVID and the morbidity rate and associated long term effects. He thinks people should get out and about, etc., supports the US following the Swedish model (despite USians being, like, fractionally as sensible as Swedes) and I'm like wait... what? Apparently most of the people who are going to die are "near end of life anyway" and really, they could be taken out by regular influenza or even the common cold. I did not bother to ask his thoughts on long-term debilitating effects because seriously why. Oh, and then he mentioned he hired a new nurse practitioner so they could start seeing more patients. He's very excited to open the clinic to a wider audience, especially families, where they (this is an actual quote) "wouldn't get vaccines pushed on them."
At that point my Game Face kicked in. It's a highly cultivated and practiced look that I used to adopt in university meetings, like when a higher-up would say something truly outrageous (or an outright lie) and I needed to appear neutral Because Politics (I'm a Very Good Slytherin that way). I was just like... I trusted you? I referred people to you? I used to be friends with your mother? What is happening right now?
But my thyroid script is renewed for another 12 months and when I need to renew it I'm going to cross my fingers and hope my regular PCP (the one I had through my work insurance) will agree to refill it for me and do the bloodwork in her office. Because I am never darkening the doors of the Atma Clinic ever again.
I'm uh...gonna go get suuuuuuper fucked up and write some Shen Wei in a corset porn, now.
He was super laissez-faire about COVID and the morbidity rate and associated long term effects. He thinks people should get out and about, etc., supports the US following the Swedish model (despite USians being, like, fractionally as sensible as Swedes) and I'm like wait... what? Apparently most of the people who are going to die are "near end of life anyway" and really, they could be taken out by regular influenza or even the common cold. I did not bother to ask his thoughts on long-term debilitating effects because seriously why. Oh, and then he mentioned he hired a new nurse practitioner so they could start seeing more patients. He's very excited to open the clinic to a wider audience, especially families, where they (this is an actual quote) "wouldn't get vaccines pushed on them."
At that point my Game Face kicked in. It's a highly cultivated and practiced look that I used to adopt in university meetings, like when a higher-up would say something truly outrageous (or an outright lie) and I needed to appear neutral Because Politics (I'm a Very Good Slytherin that way). I was just like... I trusted you? I referred people to you? I used to be friends with your mother? What is happening right now?
But my thyroid script is renewed for another 12 months and when I need to renew it I'm going to cross my fingers and hope my regular PCP (the one I had through my work insurance) will agree to refill it for me and do the bloodwork in her office. Because I am never darkening the doors of the Atma Clinic ever again.
I'm uh...gonna go get suuuuuuper fucked up and write some Shen Wei in a corset porn, now.

no subject
no subject
But yeah. At least I've got twelve months of pills. And if the past year taught me anything, it's that a hell of a lot can happen in twelve months.
no subject
This is completely unethical. I can't believe what I'm reading with my own two eyes. KUDOS TO YOU for not just leaving the Zoom mid-sentence because uhhhh.
WHAT THE FUCCCCCCCCCCK
And all other completely irrational things aside:
DON'T BE LIKE SWEDEN
I was just ranting about this on Twitter today, because the Swedish Model of waiting and seeing has turned out to leave us with one of the highest death rates per capita IN THE WORLD. It was fine for a bit - like, our numbers weren't that far off from our neighbors - but then Denmark and Norway and Finland all stopped having deaths at a few hundred and Sweden's now at OVER FOUR THOUSAND. GUUUUUUUUUUUUYS. This is not something you want to do. If you discount micro-countries like San Marino, Sweden's like #5 IN THE WORLD for deaths per capita. (My uneducated guess is that there's countries like the US that should be higher than us but where deaths are being underreported, so it might be more like...IDK, #10 or so in real terms? Which is WAYYYYYYYYYYY worse than the rest of the Nordics.)
And yeah, that's WITH people trying to be sensible and reasonable and getting paid sick leave from the first day (you can be on paid sick leave for a long time too - I won't say unlimited, but it'll go from short term to long term after 14 days, and you can't be fired for being off sick), and paid leave to take care of sick kids, AND paid leave if you're contagious.
But seriously though: "near end of life anyway" I CANNOT. What the hell kind of philosophy is that for a doctor???
no subject
I hadn't been paying attention to international numbers and didn't realize Sweden was rising so rapidly. Ugh, I'm so sorry, bb.
What the hell kind of philosophy is that for a doctor?
I don't fuckin' know, naye. I don't know anything anymore.
(no subject)
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I am speechless.
Because I am never darkening the doors of the Atma Clinic ever again.
Thank goodness you got your prescription renewed for another year. Yikes.
no subject
no subject
This kind of callous cruelty, in a doctor? WHAT THE HELL.
All the hugs for having to deal with that without exploding. Ugh.
no subject
no subject
I'm glad you got the script you need and that your Game Face kicked in. (I envy your Game Face. I utterly lack one.)
I'm uh...gonna go get suuuuuuper fucked up and write some Shen Wei in a corset porn, now.
That sounds like a good plan, which I'm not only saying because it benefits so many of us. I do very much appreciate the visuals, though.
no subject
no subject
I guess you didn't get to ask about the other thing. HIT ME UP!
no subject
no subject
Screw all the anti-vaxxers, especially those in the medical profession themselves. I mean, WTF?
I'm sorry he's a horrifying idiot and you had to find out in such a shocking way. Yay for never dealing with him again.
no subject
no subject
Also, I completely approve of corset porn as a coping mechanism and would like to subscribe to your newsletter.
no subject
no subject
no subject
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I am very here for the corset porn though! Sounds like an excellent coping mechanism, in addition to it being such a wonderful service to fandom :D
no subject
no subject
UGH. Hooray for a year's worth of meds before you have to figure out an alternative.
JFC. I'm still all: GAHH.
no subject
(check out today's DW post tho it's much happier)
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
(no subject)
no subject
Because I'm so angry for you that the Damn Special Doc you trusted isn't worthy anymore.
NOT. WORTHY.
His opinion is exactly what I'm afraid a lot of assholes think about the compromised people who are dying. I wonder if he knows the truth about that Swedish model?
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
It's a good thing he was so talkative, really, or you might not have found out he's a crackpot who should never have become a doctor, given that he's an idiot, and human life means nothing to him. Fuck this guy, seriously. And not in a good way.
no subject
GOOD POINT. Good fuckin' point. whew *wipes forehead*
no subject
no subject
It makes me think I should maybe not refer people to anyone using that clinic. I need to confirm if the people at Kinetikos (body work practitioners who shared his old office) followed him to the new location. If so, I'm afraid I won't feel safe referring people to them, either, if they're encouraging UN-VACCINATED CHILDREN and their families to visit.
no subject
no subject
no subject
Would leaving a lousy Yelp review help at all? It's the only recourse I can think of!
no subject