clevermanka (
clevermanka) wrote2009-10-28 01:45 pm
Entry tags:
Peckish
This morning when I woke up, my left shoulder was absolutely killing me. Luckily, my chiropractor had an 8:15 a.m. opening. I feel much better. I shouldn't have waited so long to go in. Stupid of me. I would have had less residual muscle tension if I'd gone in last week when it first started bothering me.
I'm in day three of Diet Hell and it's not getting any easier. Last night I had chills and joint aches along with some G.I. issues, so perhaps that's a sign that things are dying off.
Observations:
My body isn't tired, but my brain is sluggish. If I laid down for a nap, I don't know that I could fall asleep, but I'd sure like to try.
I'm still bloating hugely every time I eat--which, admittedly, isn't very often or very much. The soup I made last night is edible, but just barely. There's way too much spinach, but I need the extra fiber right now.
Mentally, I have an easier time fasting than I do eating in such a restricted manner. I would rather not eat (or do a liquid fast/cleanse) than eat this way. Not eating much for days in a row makes me dizzy and nauseated. Had an uh-oh moment this morning when I thought I was going to have dry heaves (does anyone else get that when they're really hungry?). I managed to get down a few almonds before the muscle spasms hit.
My sugar cravings are crazy strong. I bet that's the intestinal beasties talking to me, begging not to starve to death. I didn't put fake sweetener in my coffee this morning in an attempt to fight the demand for sweet. Die, fucking beasties!
I feel like I've put my digestive tract in indefinite time-out. Talk about a different twist on being sent to bed without dinner.
I'm in day three of Diet Hell and it's not getting any easier. Last night I had chills and joint aches along with some G.I. issues, so perhaps that's a sign that things are dying off.
Observations:
My body isn't tired, but my brain is sluggish. If I laid down for a nap, I don't know that I could fall asleep, but I'd sure like to try.
I'm still bloating hugely every time I eat--which, admittedly, isn't very often or very much. The soup I made last night is edible, but just barely. There's way too much spinach, but I need the extra fiber right now.
Mentally, I have an easier time fasting than I do eating in such a restricted manner. I would rather not eat (or do a liquid fast/cleanse) than eat this way. Not eating much for days in a row makes me dizzy and nauseated. Had an uh-oh moment this morning when I thought I was going to have dry heaves (does anyone else get that when they're really hungry?). I managed to get down a few almonds before the muscle spasms hit.
My sugar cravings are crazy strong. I bet that's the intestinal beasties talking to me, begging not to starve to death. I didn't put fake sweetener in my coffee this morning in an attempt to fight the demand for sweet. Die, fucking beasties!
I feel like I've put my digestive tract in indefinite time-out. Talk about a different twist on being sent to bed without dinner.

no subject
How many more days are you workin' this elimination? Shall I send pictures of sparkly things to distract/reward you?
no subject
I'd like to go for two weeks before testing the waters (meaning eat something not on the diet plan). I don't know that I will make it the full two weeks, but I'm going to try. If I'm still bloating from the diet-accepted foods after two weeks, that means either these are some damn tough bacteria or there is something else wrong with me. In which case, I'll have to re-evaluate what I'm doing.
Pictures of sparkly things are always welcome. Heck, post 'em in the comments so everyone can enjoy! And speaking of sparkly, who is that in your icon? Pouty sexy emo boys for the win!
no subject
There are some truly excellent photos to be enjoyed here: http://bestof.provocateuse.com/show/jonathan_rhys_meyers
no subject
Ooo, lookie! They have a page for Jensen Ackles (http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0010075/).
no subject
Do what you can to exercise while you are doing this restricted diet, though, so that you will not lose muscle mass as part of any weight loss you experience.
D.
no subject
no subject
Deepest empathy/sympathy as to the brain fog thing, though.
D.
Hey there
I can relate to some of that. I will diet and diet and diet then go buy a pound of candy and fix my sugar high. GAHHHHHHHHHH
I have done the juice fast. That works with me so about 4 days of no food only juice is good. Going 14 days without food and only juice well I hope once to make it up to that level.
Hang in there. Be strong
Re: Hey there
no subject
What I can eat:
Animals (but no animal products--so no dairy at all)
Eggs
Leaf vegetables (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leaf_vegetable)
Cruciferous vegetables (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cruciferous_vegetables)
Raw nuts (not legumes, so no peanuts)
Spices and herbs that have no sugar content
Water
Black coffee
Ta da! Fun times, eh?
Also, good point about the yoga. I can't make it to classes right now, but I should definitely be doing it at home. I bet some inversions would help my alertness and energy levels. Thank you for the reminder.