clevermanka (
clevermanka) wrote2019-04-19 02:22 pm
Entry tags:
A new development
Welp! This morning I spent a couple hours in conference with KU's HR rep because my position has been eliminated (yay state budget cuts!). So now I'm home on administrative leave to supposedly start work updating my resume but instead I just got fucked up and had my partner drive me to the grocery store.
I'm fine, seriously, I'm fine. It might be the shock talking, but right now I'm just like:

I put out a letter to the graduate student listserv and word must be traveling fast because you should see some of the texts I'm getting from grad students (I didn't realize quite how many of them had my cell phone number, not that I'm complaining, it's just funny) and they are not best pleased. When I started getting texts from alumns I knew shit was flying fast. I'm so charmed and pleased, honestly. My little lambs! I'm worried for them.
But anyway, yeah, as of May 25th I won't be working IN MY FABULOUS OFFICE ANYMORE.
I'm fine, seriously, I'm fine. It might be the shock talking, but right now I'm just like:

I put out a letter to the graduate student listserv and word must be traveling fast because you should see some of the texts I'm getting from grad students (I didn't realize quite how many of them had my cell phone number, not that I'm complaining, it's just funny) and they are not best pleased. When I started getting texts from alumns I knew shit was flying fast. I'm so charmed and pleased, honestly. My little lambs! I'm worried for them.
But anyway, yeah, as of May 25th I won't be working IN MY FABULOUS OFFICE ANYMORE.

no subject
Enjoy all the fucked up.
no subject
no subject
I hope you can stay fucked up all weekend.
How awesome, though, to know that all those students you helped care about you. Not surprised, but still...awesome. :D
Now that your position is eliminated do you have preferential privilege for other openings around campus?
no subject
TBH I don't know that I want to stay at KU. I really liked my department and unless I'm in a position where I'm 100% focused on one-on-one student support I'm not interested. Sure as hell not applying to Endowment or the Alumni Association, which are two places I know are hiring and pay well but FUCK NO.
no subject
no subject
no subject
I hope you'll be able to find something else soon.
no subject
I have a lot to think about, that's for sure. I've been in this job since October 2001 and I honestly really like it on a day to day basis so I am upset about losing that. They are, of course, encouraging me to apply within the university but to be honest I've been at KU for a Very Long Time (pretty much since 1989) and the other places I'd want to work here are fuckin' thin on the ground.
no subject
Your lovely office!!! FUCKERS. I'm so sorry. That is awesome about your army, but what a shitty way to find out just how beloved you are by the students. BIG HUGS
I'm glad you have some time to absorb this and look into your options. MORE HUGS
no subject
ETA: Also why I can laugh about it because it's literally my entire life.
no subject
Maybe you ought to go around and touch every last computer in that department as a final FUCK YOU. Knowing you and technology, why not go out with a bang? :)
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I spent an entire week getting fucked up when this happened to me last time. I have no kids this weekend. Let me know if you need even more fucked-up.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Hmmm... Talk about making a difference in people's lives!
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
You need time, clearly. I'm not good at this stage of the process. Will watch supportively until it's time to remove a wall or something.
no subject
I'm not great at this stage in the process, either. Thank dogs I've got a bit of savings if I need the extra time to regroup.