clevermanka (
clevermanka) wrote2006-12-12 09:00 am
Entry tags:
Angry. And ill. And angry.
I have had it up to fucking here with the consignment process. I will never (and yeah, yeah,
rougewench "never say never" whatthefuckever) again attempt to sell anything through a second party unless
bestill asks to sell my needlecases at a workshop.
Let me give you some history.
Many years ago, I put some of my jewelry in the gallery of the friend of a friend. This was a man (supposedly) fairly well respected in the KC art scene. He had three of my bracelets, we'd met at in-common friends' parties and I even took some stained glass classes with him, so I wasn't a stranger to him. One of my bracelets sold, but somehow he never got around to paying me. In a month or so the gallery closed and I never saw him, my money, or my other two bracelets.
When I moved back to Lawrence, I started working at a bead store downtown and had some of my jewelry and some clothing at the store. I figured that was safe because I worked there, right? Well one day I showed up for work and the store was cleared out. All my work gone and I was stuck with over $1,500 of fabric that I'd purchased with the intent to make clothing to sell at the store.
And now my most recent fiasco. I put out a call to local artist friends asking if anyone they knew had a booth at the Bizarre Bazzar this year because I wanted to try to sell some of my needle cases. A friend gave me the name of someone and I should have known it was a bad idea because she was very difficult to reach and failed to meet when she said. But because I am a moron I figured oh it was just flighty artists and gave her the benefit of the doubt. Three weeks and two emails after the Bazzar, I finally got this response today:
Sorry not to have responded sooner. I don't yet have the money,
but I'll try to get it before tomorrow afternoon. Will you be here then?
And could you let me know how many you sent with me? I didn't count them,
and now there's some confusion. There were three marked down as sold, but
those who wrapped things up at the end of the day thought one of those was
held back for a woman who didn't return to get it. So they didn't include
payment for that one in my share. (She later contacted Gxxx to ask for it,
and I gave the bag back to Gxxx so she could sell it.) I pointed out that
all three were in my handwriting, and that I didn't knowingly enter anything
that hadn't yet been paid for.
When I handed over the cases, I specifically asked if I needed to mark the cases with my name or some sort of tag. I was told no.
I am finished with dealing with second parties and go-betweens ('cept you,
bestill). This takes the goddamned fucking cake. What the hell is wrong with people? Seriously. What the fucking hell.
Oh yeah, and I really am coming down with some sort of cold. Hurrah.
Let me give you some history.
Many years ago, I put some of my jewelry in the gallery of the friend of a friend. This was a man (supposedly) fairly well respected in the KC art scene. He had three of my bracelets, we'd met at in-common friends' parties and I even took some stained glass classes with him, so I wasn't a stranger to him. One of my bracelets sold, but somehow he never got around to paying me. In a month or so the gallery closed and I never saw him, my money, or my other two bracelets.
When I moved back to Lawrence, I started working at a bead store downtown and had some of my jewelry and some clothing at the store. I figured that was safe because I worked there, right? Well one day I showed up for work and the store was cleared out. All my work gone and I was stuck with over $1,500 of fabric that I'd purchased with the intent to make clothing to sell at the store.
And now my most recent fiasco. I put out a call to local artist friends asking if anyone they knew had a booth at the Bizarre Bazzar this year because I wanted to try to sell some of my needle cases. A friend gave me the name of someone and I should have known it was a bad idea because she was very difficult to reach and failed to meet when she said. But because I am a moron I figured oh it was just flighty artists and gave her the benefit of the doubt. Three weeks and two emails after the Bazzar, I finally got this response today:
but I'll try to get it before tomorrow afternoon. Will you be here then?
And could you let me know how many you sent with me? I didn't count them,
and now there's some confusion. There were three marked down as sold, but
those who wrapped things up at the end of the day thought one of those was
held back for a woman who didn't return to get it. So they didn't include
payment for that one in my share. (She later contacted Gxxx to ask for it,
and I gave the bag back to Gxxx so she could sell it.) I pointed out that
all three were in my handwriting, and that I didn't knowingly enter anything
that hadn't yet been paid for.
When I handed over the cases, I specifically asked if I needed to mark the cases with my name or some sort of tag. I was told no.
I am finished with dealing with second parties and go-betweens ('cept you,
Oh yeah, and I really am coming down with some sort of cold. Hurrah.

no subject
I would think that it would be very hard to find people to trust at that level, because so often people are either idiots, or something simply goes awry.
May you find a venue for sale of your art such that you are not jerked around monetarily in the future.
D.
no subject
Talk about bad Karma though, man....
no subject
no subject
::inserts foot into mouth:: followed by ::facepalm::
I meant the people who ripped you off.
no subject
I'm a big fan of the invoice...and copies. Multiple copies.
But I also know that still doesn't help when it's out-and-out theft, as in the Bead Store Caper.
...and a cold again? Sounds like emo stress over this bs on top of it.
Shall we have something warm and comforting for the movie night, like a thick soup-y thing?
no subject
no subject
Can you eat the walnut-y bread? Or something dark and rich? I love that stuff. Do they have one yet for the holidays?
...and one more thing...could you see if they're making the turkey/cranberry relish sammiches yet? I could kill for one of those for lunch today.
no subject
no subject
I'm usually good for craving something for two days or more to see if I *really* want it, or is it just a passing thought ;)
I'm trying to figure out another place to go have lunch later in the week since Star's gonna be gone.
no subject
no subject
As for the sick. Anything I can do, or bring you, that would help? I am heading out to Lawrence Wednesday afternoon, to campus even, so if there's anything I can do, let me know!
no subject
But I do have the cocoa done, if you want to pick it up (Baa baa, three bags full!). When will you be in Lawrence? Should I bring them to work with me? You could pick them up in my Wescoe office.
no subject
Darn missing my emails...
no subject
no subject
Mmm... Cocoa...
no subject
Even if it was for half the value, a security deposit, of sorts, you wouldn't be out everything.
'Course, they could stop payment, but at least it would be possible that they might not and that you might receive payment.
no subject
I won't.
no subject
Just a thought.
no subject
no subject
no subject
Flakey-artist status excuses need to be revoked from any flakey-artist type who runs a business that involves other peoples creations. If this woman wants to fuck-up with her own merchandise that's one thing, but if she wants to run a business, she needs to be treated like a business-person. Is it worth it to try taking her to small-claims court?
no subject
And do keep in mind, I asked her if she'd sell my stuff at her booth. It wasn't like she was setting up shop, like the other two places.
no subject
And yes, you did ask her, but she agreed to take responsibility for your sales. If nothing else, it's common courtesy to be expected to keep track of them.
no subject
no subject