clevermanka (
clevermanka) wrote2010-05-07 08:55 am
Strange loves
From
bart_calendar,

It embarrasses me to admit it, but I have never seen The People vs. Larry Flynt. Shameful. Wonder if it's rentable at Liberty Hall. It's a sure bet Hastings won't have it. Anybody else notice that Netflix has completely killed the older-than-ten-years movie selection at local rental places? Forget about finding anything made before 1960.
Black and white/classic movies were pretty much all I watched on T.V. when I was in junior high. We got HBO (and MTV) when I was in high school and that changed my viewing habits a bit, but I still watched a lot of pre-60s stuff. The Strange Love of Martha Ivers mixed with Duran Duran. I guess that explains some of my fashion choices.
Yesterday was the last day of Spring 2010 semester. Today is Stop Day. For those of you not KU-affiliated, that means no classes, no exams. Academically, everything stops today to give undergraduates a three day weekend before finals to recover from (or continue) last night's drunken binges. I've always thought this was very generous of the administration. Occasionally a rumor goes around that they're going to get rid of Stop Day, but I hope they don't. Even if most of the student body takes it for granted. It's still a nice gesture.
It embarrasses me to admit it, but I have never seen The People vs. Larry Flynt. Shameful. Wonder if it's rentable at Liberty Hall. It's a sure bet Hastings won't have it. Anybody else notice that Netflix has completely killed the older-than-ten-years movie selection at local rental places? Forget about finding anything made before 1960.
Black and white/classic movies were pretty much all I watched on T.V. when I was in junior high. We got HBO (and MTV) when I was in high school and that changed my viewing habits a bit, but I still watched a lot of pre-60s stuff. The Strange Love of Martha Ivers mixed with Duran Duran. I guess that explains some of my fashion choices.
Yesterday was the last day of Spring 2010 semester. Today is Stop Day. For those of you not KU-affiliated, that means no classes, no exams. Academically, everything stops today to give undergraduates a three day weekend before finals to recover from (or continue) last night's drunken binges. I've always thought this was very generous of the administration. Occasionally a rumor goes around that they're going to get rid of Stop Day, but I hope they don't. Even if most of the student body takes it for granted. It's still a nice gesture.

no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Edit: when were you here? I got here in 1988 and we had only the Stop Day. We did have two weeks of finals, though.
no subject
no subject
no subject
My tenure started in 1993, which OMG, seems so long ago.
no subject
I'm gonna have to go over to University Archives to do some digging, now.
no subject
"Stop Day began when finals started on a Wednesday and students were given Tuesday off to study."
http://www.kansan.com/news/2009/feb/10/committee_considers/
I also found an article from the Kansas City Star from Dec 11, 1991 that referenced stop day being on a Tuesday.
"McSwain said firefighters were called to the three-story house at 10:50 pm When they arrived at 10:53 pm, flames were lapping out of the ... Because Tuesday was "stop day," the day before final exams begin at the university, there were only about 15 persons in the house Monday night."
It is the third one down if this search result URL works correctly:
http://www.google.com/search?q=KU+Stop+Day+history&hl=en&client=firefox-a&hs=Mr&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&tbs=tl:1&tbo=u&ei=NYPkS4mjC4L98Aa29NTDDg&sa=X&oi=timeline_result&ct=more-results&resnum=11&ved=0CEwQ6AIwCg
no subject
However, there was never a week between classes. It went last day of classes, then stop day, then finals started the day after that. Maybe other folks just never had exams until the second week of finals?
no subject
no subject
no subject
As a total Woody Harrelson fan, I demand you see it. It's also a very complex love story underneath the main story, and Courtney Love actually does a good job in her role as his wife.
no subject
no subject
Oh, it's on Instant Play as well, meaning we can watch it anytime through the Wii/Netflix channel. Hm.
Movie night at our place, you and Chris?
no subject