clevermanka (
clevermanka) wrote2010-08-12 08:38 am
Entry tags:
It's time to get dressed
I think everyone knows how I feel about people wearing flip-flops every day, every where, to every thing. I was pleased to find the image below on this post about getting dressed, via Melicious's blog The Clothes Make the Girl.
Used with permission. Click here to go to main page of the Live Strong and Sore blog.
Used with permission. Click here to go to main page of the Live Strong and Sore blog.

no subject
Who wants to arrive at a swank resort looking like one just got out of bed?
no subject
no subject
no subject
Oh, I don't own sweatpants, either.
no subject
no subject
no subject
It's possible to dress functionally without dressing sloppily. Also, when you're at the gym or climbing a mountain, different rules apply. But those rules still don't include flip-flops unless your workout is on the beach or at the pool.
no subject
Generally speaking, though, when I'm at work I have to be on my feet and relatively active. I don't own any "nice" jeans, but if I did they would be poor candidates.
I'm also big on comfort. If something's not comfortable, I'm probably not going to wear it.
no subject
no subject
Where this loses me is "saturday night effort into sunday afternoon" - in highschool I curled my hair and put on eyeliner before even running to the grocery. I think I'm the better person now that I don't.
Jet wears Mossimo flip flops pretty much everywhere if we are just running somewhere. Who wants to put on socks or shoes with any bigger straps when it's +100 out? I personally don't wear them because I think they are uncomfortable but I have an equivalent pair of slip on shoes.
no subject
Yes, that was the one line I didn't care for. I just liked the rest of it too much not to use the whole thing!
I agree that accommodations must be made for climate. Sometimes it is Just Too Damn Hot.
But I really do think that flip-flops, worn for more than just out for a quick errand a couple times a week, are really bad. Bad for your feet, even if you don't care about fashion.
no subject
no subject
I'll be sure to pack some sedatives when I make the trek to visit you.
no subject
disagree.
And the thing you posted has nothing to do with function. It has to do with looking good for appearances sake only. If it was about function, sweat pants (or the yoga pant equivalent) would be the perfect airport outfit.
no subject
Well, yes....and? =D
no subject
But then don't throw in the never functional argument. Just say:
Flip-flops: Don't Want To See Your Toes, Thanks.
and be done with it. ;)
no subject
no subject
no subject
I like your style, you fashion-lady, you.
no subject
If this was the issue, then athletic shoes *would* be the shoe of choice for the office, no?
no subject
I think you're overestimating what I think of as "getting dressed." Clean jeans or shorts and a tee shirt? Fine. Flippy skirt and comfy shoes? Fine.
This (http://www.codeodor.com/images/britney_spears_in_sweatpants.jpg) is the sort of thing I'm tired of seeing at the grocery store.
Yes, every once in a while I stop to pick up milk on my way home from yoga while I'm wearing my yoga pants and tee shirt. I assure you, the other 50 people dressed like me did not just come from the gym.
Also: Kids coming to class in their pajamas, with their hair un-brushed? Way too common on this campus.
no subject
no subject
no subject
Not that I'm gonna be able to afford a pedicure anytime soon.
But, no rubber flip-flops!
or
no subject
I have a $10 gift card for Kohl's...
no subject
Me too!
.. and most of the sale ones go for around $4-8
I'm going to go try on a pair of these Levis (http://www.kohls.com/kohlsStore/womens/brandswomen/levi/PRD~539265/Levis+525+Perfect+Waist+StraightLeg+Jeans.jsp), the midrise waist looks promising. Let's hope the ass agrees.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Unfortunately.....
no subject
I think when you get your digestive/food issues under control, it's likely that you'll notice an increase in energy levels. And maybe consider cutting back your activities just a leetle bit? Maybe? Seems like you're always running and you only rest when your body crashes.
no subject
no subject
no subject
Flip-flops are for the pool and to throw on my bare feet if I have to go into the garage. Also for pedicures. :) I tried wearing a "nice" pair to work ONCE, and my feet died! Plus, I didn't like looking as if I wanted to blend in with college kids half my age. Never again.
Of course, dressing "up" can be taken to the opposite extreme. Girls
walkinghobbling to class across our campus in camp shirts, dress shorts and 3" patent pumps make me want to take them aside for counseling on habits for a healthy back.no subject
no subject
Of course, if '30s and '40s suits were a little easier to come buy, I'd retro myself into a bit of style now and then.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I hate to wear my pajama pants to take the frikkin' trash out to the dumpster here at the apartment complex! I've done it once or twice but have been very glad I never ran into anyone.
It's about self-respect, far as I'm concerned.