clevermanka (
clevermanka) wrote2011-02-01 05:34 pm
o_o
Posted 02/01/2011 05:14PM
Update: Due to inclement weather all classes and most events are cancelled for Feb. 2 at KU-Lawrence and the Edwards Campus. Campus will be closed from midnight to 11:59 p.m. Feb. 2; only weather essential/emergency employees report to work.
Whoa.
KU canceling two days in a row. I'm not complaining about the free days off, but Jesus H., it can stop snowing already.
Update: Due to inclement weather all classes and most events are cancelled for Feb. 2 at KU-Lawrence and the Edwards Campus. Campus will be closed from midnight to 11:59 p.m. Feb. 2; only weather essential/emergency employees report to work.
Whoa.
KU canceling two days in a row. I'm not complaining about the free days off, but Jesus H., it can stop snowing already.

no subject
I can't even see how much it has drifted in front of the garage because I haven't been willing to go outside.
Lawrence public schools have not cancelled. I'm sure they will, but they will wait until about 11:00pm and have their robo-dialer call my cell 8 times.
no subject
This is only the third time I can remember (since 1988) that KU has closed two days in a row. The other times were the ice storm in 2002 that took out the whole town's power for three days (that was a great birthday present, let me tell you) and the other was the 2006 microburst that made it unsafe to walk on campus until they could clear up the debris.
Do you remember any others?
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I bet that was during my brief KC or Topeka employments. I think I remember driving home in one of those storms. Good times!
no subject
And it wasn't closed for a week in the 70s. At least not since 1972. Just two days.
http://www.ur.ku.edu/weather.shtml
You know they put that up because *tons* of people have the same conversation everytime KU closes.
Jan. 27, 1997 is the day I got stuck on campus because the buses stopped running and I did not have a car.
no subject
What. The. Fuck.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
No kidding. Just sit down on a big platter and have someone give you a push.
no subject
Say, you and Chris are better car people than me. If I overrevved my engine trying to get out of a snowdrift, and then smelled pickles, did I burn off some antifreeze? I am guessing I should check my antifreeze level...?
I am too much of a girl when it comes to cars. Nail polish is one thing, but I need to man up beyond being able to check oil, refill windshield washer fluid, and check/air tires, and rock the manual trans. LAME.
no subject
If you can't see any coolant in that container, don't start it until it's refilled, then look for burst hoses and such.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
:D
no subject
no subject
no subject
Oh, man, that actually sounds like a really awesome time.
*sigh*
no subject
no subject
no subject
Haha, I'm actually tickled to find that out, too!
no subject
Don't feel bad, you're doing better than Jbird's son, who is 22 and not only was chicken to drive my Solstice, but hasn't figured out when he should change the oil in his own car.