clevermanka (
clevermanka) wrote2014-01-09 09:47 am
And so we drown, sir, we drown
Earlier this week I talked with someone about my love of male singers with weird (or purposefully affected) voices. Placebo's Brian Molko. Muse's Matthew Bellamy. Circa Survive's Anthony Green. I love Thom Yorke's voice, but Radiohead's music just doesn't do it for me. Perhaps alas. A lot of these voices started in the fucking amazing early 90s Britpop scene with that culture's embracing and promotion of emo androgyny. That's, like, two of my favorite musical themes squished together. Bands like Elastica, Lush, and Blur were the only things I listened to besides rockabilly during that time period. I disliked grunge (still do, sorry,
mckitterick), and didn't realize until years afterwards that Britpop was an active movement against it.
Recently, I was flipping through a Tumblr I don't follow (because NSFW) and I came across a song link she'd put up for the band Suede. I'd never heard of them (how I'd never heard of them is a mystery because apparently they were a founding band of Britpop), but holy crap this song.
I got all excited about it and checked out the full album on YouTube. But it was really meh. Why does the rest of the album have to be so...not great? DISAPPOINT.
God's truth, though, I never liked Oasis.
Recently, I was flipping through a Tumblr I don't follow (because NSFW) and I came across a song link she'd put up for the band Suede. I'd never heard of them (how I'd never heard of them is a mystery because apparently they were a founding band of Britpop), but holy crap this song.
I got all excited about it and checked out the full album on YouTube. But it was really meh. Why does the rest of the album have to be so...not great? DISAPPOINT.
God's truth, though, I never liked Oasis.

no subject
You see, you see, THIS is why single-song downloads have taken over. I'm all for "buy the whole damn CD to support the artist", but not when the artist fails to come through with a great experience. (Is it kill all the things day AGAIN?)
no subject
Can't help but wonder, though...did I used to just be more accommodating/accepting of meh songs in the past? Or did artists put more care into crafting albums until a few years ago? Obviously that's not the case for all albums (current example given), but I remember buying CDs back when they cost $20 and feeling confident about the investment.
Am I more picky now? Or is it something else?
no subject
no subject
That's awesome about your kids liking a wide range of music and not just listening to what's hot today. Don't get me wrong, I like a lot of what gets played on hit radio. But I like having such an eclectic range of choices in my CD collection. I'm grateful that the culture of my teen years allowed (heck, encouraged, even) listening to both the classic rock station (Led Zep, Jimi Hendrix) and Top 40 (Duran Duran, INXS). And then of course there were bands that got played on both stations (ZZ Top, Aerosmith). Say what you like about any other aspect of the 80s (politics, fashion), the music of that decade was fucking amazing.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEalg62F8Zg
no subject
no subject
I didn't start listening to Britpop until way after it was popular. I found it to be too gutless when I was in my industrial phase but I like it a lot more now. I think Charlatans UK were another band I like in that vein, I've been listening to completely different music lately.
no subject
no subject
I think Bernard Butler (the guitarist) is brilliant but Brett Anderson's voice can get to me after awhile.
no subject
Do you like The Stone Roses? I took 10 years but now I love their debut album.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Had to add to this: even though it's not my favorite song overall, the full on stop and then from about 6:30 to the end in "I Am The Resurrection"? Always gets my brain spinning and makes me want to dance around in circles.
no subject
The beginning of that album is too 60s for me to be able to go further.. blech. I now know why I never got into Britpop. I didn't even know it was a thing til today. I'm going to crawl back into my hole now. :)
no subject
Ah! Never mind. I see it in the edit.
no subject
I hate that LJ won't let you edit once there's a response.
no subject
no subject
I never listened to grunge in the 90s either. I was still into that Manchester sound, britpop, Sublime (and whatever bands like them would be considered). I remembering seeing Soundgarden at the Vic in Chicago in 1990 and they were the scrubber dog opening band for Faith No More who was the opening band for Voi Void, who was headlining. I always liked Faith No More, too. And the Red Hot Chili Peppers. But, not *grunge* per se. And then a few years ago I heard this Chris Cornell cover of Billie Jean and LOVED it:
and so I reassessed all things Chris Cornell and, thus, Soundgarden. And I find I have a real appreciation for them now. So, I guess almost two decades after the fact (wait. what? TWO DECADES?), i can now say I like grunge. Plus, who knew Chris Cornell was such a damn hottie all this time?
I remember Suede and have always thought they were meh.
no subject
no subject
I picked up a few of the early grunge records and then was all, "Eh". I remember some music magazine declaring Kurt Cobain the voice of a generation and I declared, "Not for me!"