clevermanka (
clevermanka) wrote2009-12-30 09:35 am
Entry tags:
Buried
Another two or maybe three inches of snow fell last night.

It was still snowing when I left this morning. I shoveled our sidewalk and the neighbors to the north so I had a clear path for the first twenty feet of my walk to work. But since it was still coming down, I don't know how much is going to remain for
mckitterick to do when he wakes up.
I'm betting we won't be able to get the car out for another couple days. I'm supposed to be in KC on Saturday, so I hope things are cleared a bit by then. The fucking "traffic control devices" (i.e. lame-ass concrete barrier sorry excuse for roundabouts) they installed at the intersections all up our street mean snowplows can't get through our neighborhood. So we don't get plowed. Nice, huh?
I am so done with this shit. And I'm so relieved I went to the grocery store last night.
Today's Dr. Boli post made me smile. Very appropriate considering this year's decision to not go out to party like a crazy person for New Year's Eve.

I hope next year I'll be back to my usual hi-jinks.

It was still snowing when I left this morning. I shoveled our sidewalk and the neighbors to the north so I had a clear path for the first twenty feet of my walk to work. But since it was still coming down, I don't know how much is going to remain for
I'm betting we won't be able to get the car out for another couple days. I'm supposed to be in KC on Saturday, so I hope things are cleared a bit by then. The fucking "traffic control devices" (i.e. lame-ass concrete barrier sorry excuse for roundabouts) they installed at the intersections all up our street mean snowplows can't get through our neighborhood. So we don't get plowed. Nice, huh?
I am so done with this shit. And I'm so relieved I went to the grocery store last night.
Today's Dr. Boli post made me smile. Very appropriate considering this year's decision to not go out to party like a crazy person for New Year's Eve.

I hope next year I'll be back to my usual hi-jinks.

no subject
no subject
But even if I'm home all by myself at midnight, I'm still opening up a bottle of champagne just for me. I'll at least do that!
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
They never, ever clear our cul-de-sac, and we have no barriers for them to get in it. The neighbor shoveled it after the last big snow.
I wish that Santa would have brought us a snow blower. At least this is only a couple of inches. I had to shovel snow that was above my knees when we got back from KC.
no subject
no subject
no subject
.. could you imagine if they did and left a five foot high wall of snow at the end of your driveway? ACK.
no subject
no subject
... should have been on your street, lol!
Unfortunately, even those little trucks don't have a great turning radius..they'd have to just push it forward into the yards on the opposite of the open end, leaving a big pile up against the driveways.
Maybe they expect that people who live on the small west side cul-de-sacs own SUVs.
Or perhaps they simply expect that in blizzard conditions, people might prepare to be .. omg.. snowed in!
I don't envy that driveway at all!
no subject
no subject
The snowplow came through during the night and the pile was right back up again, LOL.
no subject
We have a 5ft drift all along the front of our yard from the plows. FIVE FEET.
no subject
no subject
Hope you are having a better day than you this morn.
no subject
oops. ranting again, sorry.
I also found it strange and amusing that the neighborhoods with the highest rate of BUV 4x4s (big Ugly vehicles) got plowed long before the areas where more people are likely to own smaller fair-weather cars. Logic of a city for ya.
On a happier note:
I stashed a case of Fiery Ginger Beer and a bottle of booze. I'm in good shape for another downblast.
no subject
no subject
I'll be ravenous by the time 4:ish comes around.
no subject
no subject
no subject
You can have mine!