Aug. 7th, 2010

clevermanka: default (gas mask)
Someone has familial company arriving this afternoon, so guess who will be tidying and scrubbing once all household members are awake and fed? I'm not looking forward to it, but it's much needed. The house is a wreck (well, a wreck as I see it--you all know my tolerance for untidiness), and a lot of the stuff I can't do by myself since it involves boxes (and boxes) of books and stuff from the CSSF office and the July CSSF summer activities. It's going to be one of those projects that is hellish while you're doing it, but the results will be so rewarding. And really, who doesn't love a sparkling clean house?

The much-anticipated coconut cream concentrate from Tropical Traditions arrived yesterday. While it's interestingly delicious, it is totally inappropriate for mixing in beverages, despite what it says on the label. It forms a distressing sludge at the bottom of the glass or mug, even when mixed with hot-hot-hot coffee. All is not lost, though. I think it'll be excellent for use in cooking (it'll be a fabulous addition to curries) and paleo-baking after I've wrapped up Whole30 (when I'm making things like almond meal pancakes).

And speaking of Whole30, today marks the end of week one. Things are going swimmingly. I'm enjoying what I'm eating (with one exception) and even managed to dine at a restaurant with no difficulty or compromises. The one exception was a rather dry pork roast. I ate it (along with a Brussels Sprout experiment) and decided the leftovers would be better served in a different format. So last night I made a ginger pork stew...thing. Caramelized onions, red pepper, broccoli, the cubed-up leftover pork, and a big spoonful of ginger paste, simmered with some pork-bone broth and a dab of leftover tomato paste until the liquid was almost all gone. It's pretty good. I might do something similar with the one remaining pork roast still in the freezer, since I wasn't terribly impressed with how the pork roast fared in the crock pot, either. Maybe I'm not very good at cooking pork roast. I should stick with chops and ribs.

I didn't intend to have the first week of the Whole30 experiment coincide with my period, but ah well. Nothing like trial by fire! As I reported earlier, I had no food cravings and the period itself wasn't awful. I have no idea if that second bit was due to the clean eating or the fact that My Wonderful Acupuncturist Kiva has been working on some points to give me some relief from my usual heavy cramping. That crazy acupuncture-might-work thing again!

The hoped-for mini-vacation before KU classes resume is not going to happen. Bummer. I'm trying to decide if I should attempt a long weekend in the two weeks between the start of the academic year and opening day of KCRF or if I should just suck it up and wait to take a week off after faire wraps up. Or, you know, do both.

For anyone here who doesn't read [livejournal.com profile] tessagratton's LJ (which you totally should): Congratulations, girl! Woot!

Profile

clevermanka: default (Default)
clevermanka

November 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
23456 78
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags